Skip to Content

GEMOC ARC National Key Centre

Professor Sue O'Reilly

BSc Syd, PhD Syd.

Professor (personal chair) in Geology, Distinguished Professor of Macquarie University, Director of the ARC National Key Centre for Geochemical Evolution and Metallogeny of Continents (GEMOC) and Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Core to Crust Fluid Systems (CCFS)

Contact Details

Office : E7A 504
Phone : 61-(0)2-9850 8362
Fax : 61-(0)2-9850 8943 or 6904
email :

Professor Suzanne Y. O'Reilly
Director, GEMOC, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Macquarie University NSW, 2109

Professor Sue O'Reilly


I have been Director of the ARC National Key Centre for Geochemical Evolution and Metallogeny of Continents (GEMOC) since 1995 and leader of the Lithosphere Mapping and Mantle Dynamics Group in GEMOC (see Annual Reports)

Fields of Research

Fields of research include: the integration of geophysical, geochemical, petrological, petrophysical and tectonic data to construct realistic lithospheric structure and evolution models (4-D Lithosphere Mapping) and understand whole-mantle dynamics through time; the geochemistry and evolution of the mantle and deep crust; the geochemistry and origin of basaltic magmas and their geodynamic significance; trace element dispersions, residence sites and mineral partitioning in the mantle; relationship between mantle geochemistry and structure, volcanic activity, tectonic environment and economic deposits.

Selected Awards and Positions

Elected Fellow of the Mineralogical Society of America (1989)

Editors' citation award for excellence in reviewing for Journal of Geophysical Research, 2000 (presented at the May Meeting of the American Geophysical Union)

1997, invested as Concurrent Professor, Nanjing University

Editorial Board member for Chemical Geology and Lithos, China-Russia Geotraverse Project; regular reviewer for the whole spectrum of international geoscience journals.

ARC Expert Advisory Committee member for Physics, Chemistry, Geosciences (2001-2003)

Member of DEST Expert Advisory Committee for National Research Priorities 2002

Member of organising committee for 2012 International Geological Congress in Australia

Elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Sciences (2002);

Elected Fellow of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (2002)

Awarded Visiting Professorship, CNRS France, 2003

Awarded Centenary Medal for services to Geosciences 2003

Member of the Australian Academy of Sciences National Committee for Earth Sciences from 2002

DEST NCRIS (National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Scheme) Steering Committee member 2006-2007

Elected Fellow of the Geological Society of Australia (2007)

Awarded W.B. Clarke Medal by the Royal Society of NSW (2008)


Selected Publications

Conference Presentations since 1995 (published as abstracts)

[Back to top]